Governance & organisational structure

The Council

The National Arts Council is governed by a board  that has the following membership;


Two members appointed by the Minister for Youth, Sport and Arts


The Director of Arts as an Ex Officio


One member to be appointed by each national arts association


One member appointed by the Ministry responsible for:-

  1. Education
  2. Information and broadcasting;
  3. Science, technology and vocational training; and
  4. Tourism.

The Secretarait

The Council secretariat is located at Acacia House on Cairo Road. Manages day to day operation of the Council. The team provides support and technical services to the arts sector. The Secretariat has eleven members of staff in Lusaka and Livingstone at the National Art Gallery.